Saturday, September 21, 2013

DKI Jakarta

DKI Jakarta is the capital city of Indonesia. Jakarta is the only city in Indonesia that have provincial-level status. Jakarta is located in the northwestern part of the island of Java. Formerly been known as Sunda Kelapa (before 1527), Jayakarta (1527-1619), Batavia / Batauia, or Jaccatra (1619-1942), and Djakarta (1942-1972). Internationally Jakarta also has nicknames like J-Town, or the more popular The Big Durian because the city is considered a comparable New York City (the Big Apple) in Indonesia. 
Jakarta has an area of ​​approximately 661.52 km² (oceans: 6977.5 km ²), with a population of 10,187,595 inhabitants (2011). The metropolitan area Jakarta (Jabodetabek), which has a population of about 28 million people, is the largest metropolitan in Southeast Asia and second in the world. As the center of business, politics, and culture, Jakarta is home to the headquarters of state-owned enterprises, private enterprises, and foreign enterprises. The city is also the seat of government agencies and the ASEAN secretariat office. Jakarta is served by two airports, namely Soekarno-Hatta airport and Halim Airport, and the Tanjung Priok seaport.

Monumen Nasional (Monas)

Monumen Nasional or popularly abbreviated as Tugu Monas is a memorial monument at 132 meters (433 feet), which was established to commemorate the resistance and the Indonesian people's struggle for independence from Dutch colonial rule. Construction of the monument began on August 17, 1961 under the orders of President Soekarno, and was opened to the public on July 12, 1975. This monument crowned flame sheet coated gold that symbolizes the spirit of struggle burning. National Monument is located right in the center of Merdeka Square, Central Jakarta. Monuments and museums are open every day starting at 8:00 to 15:00 pm. On Monday last week of the month is closed to the public.
The original text of the Indonesian Proclamation of independence that been read by Soekarno on August 17, 1945

Kepulauan Seribu (Thousand islands)

Kepulauan Seribu is an archipelago located in north Jakarta, just dealing with the Jakarta Bay. This name does not mean amounted to one thousand. Number of the island is only about 342 islands, including the islands of sand and coral reefs and non-vegetated. Sand and coral island itself amounted to 158. Like many other islands in Indonesia, most of the islands in Kepulauan Seribu are uninhabited.
Islands that can be visited is the Kahyangan island, Pabelokan Island, Bidadari Island, Onrust Island, Island of Edam, Kelor Island, Rambut Island, Ayer Island, Putri island, Matahari Island, Sepa Island, West Pantara Island and East Pantara island, Big Bira Island, Kotok Island, Pelangi Island, Papa Theo Island, Laki island, Pamagaran Island, Sabira Island, Saktu Island and Penike Island.
Kepulauan Seribu  is set to be Marine National Park in an area of ​​107,489 hectares with approximately 44 islands belonging to the national park. The islands are located in the Kepulauan Seribu National Park area are ideal places for snorkeling, swimming, or diving.

Taman Mini Indonesia Indah

Taman Mini Indonesia Indah (TMII) is an area of ​​cultural themed Indonesian tourist park in East Jakarta. This park is a summary of the Indonesian culture, which includes various aspects of people's daily life 26 provinces of Indonesia (in 1975) are displayed in the pavilion area of ​​traditional architecture, and featuring various fashion, dance, and traditions. In addition, in the middle of TMII, there is a lake that has miniature depicting the Indonesian archipelago, cable cars, museums, and the Keong Mas IMAX Theater.

In TMII there are places that can be visited is divided into 6 sections, namely the Region Section featuring a characteristic of the culture of each region in Indonesia with a typical building of each region, Religious Buildings represented by several houses of worship officially recognized religion in Indonesia for describes the relationship of tolerance and harmony between religions in Indonesia, Recreation Facilities, Parks, Museums dedicated to showcase the history, culture, flora and fauna, as well as technology in Indonesia, and finally Theatre or Cinema.

National Museum of the Republic of Indonesia (Museum Gajah)

National Museum of the Republic of Indonesia or Museum Gajah, is a museum located in central Jakarta and precisely at Jalan Merdeka Barat 12. This museum is the first and largest museum in South East Asia.

With Classicism style, the building of the National Museum of the Republic of Indonesia is one manifestation of European influence, especially the spirit of the Enlightenment, which appears at about age 18. The house was built in 1862 by the government in response to the association Bataviaasch Genootschap van Kunsten en Wetenschappen aimed examine scientific research in the Netherlands Indies.

Istana Merdeka (Freedom Palace)

Istana Merdeka is the official residence and office of the President of Indonesia, which is located at the State Palace complex and Bina Graha. Its location overlooking the Park of National Monument (Monas) Jalan Medan Merdeka Utara, Jakarta. Palace with an area of ​​approximately 2,400 was built during the reign of Governor-General JW van Lansberge 1873 in the same plot with Rijswijk Palace. This Palace was designed Drossaers at the beginning of the reign of the Republic of Indonesia (RI) happened to witness the signing of the history of the recognition of the sovereignty of the Republic of Indonesia (RIS) by the Government of the Netherlands on December 27, 1949. At that time Indonesia was represented by Sri Sultan Hamengkubuwono IX, while the Dutch kingdom represented AHJ Lovink, high representative of the Dutch crown in Indonesia. 

So...please visit Jakarta, and you will be shown a metropolitan city as a national and business capital. Watch this video!


  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  2. Great city. Jakarta never ending. So lets go around
    Indonesia's Temple